Viewing entries in
1980's

ROY Claude 1988

ROY Claude – Extract from Zao Wou-Ki, Les Grands Peintres collection, Cercle d’Art Editions, Paris, France, 1988 (p. 102).

"Chinese? French? The East? The West?  

The truth is, Zao Wou-Ki lives in one country only.

He has been living in Zaowoukia for numerous years.

More and more daring, lighter and lighter, he buried himself in it deeper and deeper.

At his beginnings, he met people and he met some cats.

The postcards in the shape of lithographs or paintings that he used to send us from over there showed houses, chickadees, men and women, and even flower vases. There were little men, bell towers, birds without passport, teapots and even several deer with antlers. In one word, everything you can meet in a city.

However, little by little, Wou-Ki moved towards wilder and wilder regions. He lost his way in the extreme edges of Zaowoukia. Fearless, he went to the ends of the land.

At first, he used to work on patterns along the streets of the cities, in the harbors, along the gondola canals and bell tower squares.

These days, as the Kritikdars (art critics) would put it, “He set his easel in the lost corners of the most remote provinces, a place where Eastern Zaowoukia borders the singing mist banks of the Mirage province, inhabited by the people of dreams”.

orange dot   Return to the list

LEYMARIE Jean 1986

LEYMARIE Jean – Extract from Zao Wou-Ki, Cercle d’Art Editions, Paris, France, 1986 (pp. 48-49).

(…) "In May 1985, Zao Wou-Ki accepted the pressing invitation from his former school and went back to Hangzhou to teach painting and drawing for a month, whereas his wife taught at the same time history of modern art and museology. It was an unexpected and fascinating experiment, although exhausting when you give all you have, as during the adventure of the Salzburg seminar in 1970. During his journey, the artist stopped in Singapore in order to decide on the location of the oversize painting ordered by Pei for a building under construction in the city. The painting was to be hung in the main lobby. Zao Wou-Ki undertook this exceptional triptych of 2.80 meters high and 10 meters long (3+ 4+ 3) with elation and without any break during the whole summer from June until October, in the retreat of his countryside studio near Fontainebleau. This three-part painting characterized by its dialectical composition around the centre line represents, without any doubt, a sovereign accomplishment in his work. I had the opportunity to see this piece soon after its completion and, with a necessary backward step, I was subjected to its irradiating power, that the most faithful copy would not be able to convey. From the vast central hearth and its solar source with copper glow, suspended blue and green layers with fearless olive green and ultramarine blue, emerald and cobalt hues appear by contrast and dilate towards the borders. The immense energy shuffling and unifying the melting space is combined with the tremendous richness and variety of the molecular texture, lines, dots, spots, hatchings, rubbings and granulations. (…)

This book has no conclusion because Zao Wou-Ki’s outstanding work remains endlessly open in its physical splendor and spiritual plenitude. With a freer and freer force, it comes to terms with the complete symbiosis between the West and the East, energy and contemplation."

orange dot   Return to the list

JACOB François 1986

JACOB François – Extract from the foreword of the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki – Paintings 1980-1985 at the Pierre Matisse Gallery in New York, Pierre Matisse Gallery Edition, New York, United States, 1986.

"A perspective still open to everything possible. A condition preceding the world. A road leading, not to completion but to the origin, to the edges of what does not yet exist. This is where Zao Wou-Ki’s paintings lead us, towards a space still undetermined but still pending, hesitant and gliding for a last second before shifting into what will later become a governing order.  

(…) There is in Zao Wou-ki’s painting, an endless questioning of the world. A determination to recreate it. Some of his paintings evoke the fury of origins, the giving birth to matter through energy, and the latest jolts of creative outbursts. Other ones display the teasing rebellion of the nebulas. Or the birth of light. Or the invention of water. Or the first morning ever, such as this marvelous little triptych with pinky white hues. And, implicitly, beyond the convulsions of matter, as if ready to burst, life … "

orange dot   Return to the list

CHENG François 1981

CHENG François – Extract from the foreword of the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki at the Galeries nationales du Grand Palais in Paris, France, 1981.

Text edited and completed for the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki at the Galerie nationale du Jeu de Paume, Éditions du Jeu de Paume, Paris, France, 2003.

"Zao Wou-Ki ’s artistic destiny is not only personal; it is closely linked to the upcoming of a several thousand years old pictorial tradition. This fundamental fact, far from lessening the value of the artist’s personal quest, leads instead to making it more moving to our eyes. In fact, thanks to this work, a long expectation in which the Chinese painting had remained for over a century seems to come to an end, for the first time, a true symbiosis took place that, from way back, was meant to take place between China and the West.

Presumably, the critics were right to mention some kind of miracle when they recalled this decisive moment when, right in the middle of this century, the painter came to settle in Paris from his distant country. Miraculously, he instantly found himself and devoted all his time to a creation, the immediate density of which still amazes us today. (How not to evoke here Victor Segalen’s parallel example who, straight after arriving to China, declared: “Here I have found my place and my background”? Follow then a long and fervent quest during which the painter rediscovered the genius of his own culture all the while attempting to absorb what makes the greatness of Western art. Later in 1961, he summarized his progression as follows: ‘Although the influence from Paris in my training as an artist is incontestable, I am adamant that I gradually rediscovered China as my character was getting stronger. In my recent paintings, my Chinese culture is expressed in an innate manner. Paradoxically, I owe to Paris this return to my deep-rooted origins’ (…)".

orange dot   Return to the list

Viewing entries in
1980's

ROY Claude, 1988

ROY Claude, extrait de Zao Wou-Ki, collection Les Grands Peintres, Éditions Cercle d’Art, Paris, 1988 (p. 102).

« Chinois ? Français ? Orient ? Occident ?

La vérité c’est que Zao Wou-Ki n’habite qu’un pays.

Il vit en Zaowoukie depuis de longues années.

De plus en plus hardi, de plus en plus léger, il s’y est enfoncé de plus en plus profond.

A ses débuts, il y croise des gens, il y croise des chats.

Il y avait dans les cartes postales en forme de lithos ou en forme de tableaux qu’il nous envoyait de là-bas, des maisons, des mésanges, des messieurs et des dames et même des vases de fleurs. Il y avait des bonshommes, des clochers, des oiseaux sans passeport, des théières et même plusieurs cerfs branchus. Enfin tout ce qu’on peut rencontrer dans les villes.

Mais petit à petit, Wou-Ki s’est avancé dans des régions de plus en plus sauvages. Il s’est égaré aux marches extrêmes de la Zaowoukie. Il s’est avancé hardiment aux confins.

Au début, il travaillait sur le motif dans les rues des cités, dans les ports, le long de canaux à gondoles et de places à clochers.

Maintenant, comme disent les Kritikdars, il « plante son chevalet » dans les coins perdus des provinces reculées, du côté où la Zaowoukie orientale jouxte les bancs de brumes chantantes de la province d’Oniri, habitée par le peuple des rêves. »

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

LEYMARIE Jean, 1986

LEYMARIE Jean, extrait de Zao Wou-Ki, Éditions Cercle d’Art, Paris, 1986 (pp. 48-49).

(…) "En mai 1985, Zao Wou-Ki répond à l’invitation pressante de son ancienne école et retourne à Hang-Tchéou pour y donner durant un mois des cours de peinture et de dessin, tandis que sa femme enseigne en même temps l’histoire de l’art moderne et la muséographie. Expérience inattendue et passionnante, mais comme celle du séminaire de Salzbourg en 1970, épuisante à s’y livrer en entier. Au cours de son voyage il s’arrête à Singapour afin de déterminer l’emplacement de la peinture monumentale que lui commande Pei pour l’édifice en construction dans cette ville. Elle occupera le hall d’entrée. C’est le triptyque exceptionnel de deux mètres quatre-vingts de hauteur sur dix mètres de longueur (3 + 4 + 3) qu’il entreprend avec exaltation et même à terme sans désemparer durant tout l’été, de juin à octobre, dans la retraite de son atelier de campagne près de Fontainebleau. Il marque sans aucun doute dans son œuvre un accomplissement souverain, sur le mode ternaire et son orchestration dialectique autour de l’axe médian. J’ai pu le voir dès son achèvement et subir, avec le recul nécessaire, sa puissance irradiatrice, que la reproduction la plus fidèle ne saurait transmettre. Du vaste foyer central et de sa source solaire aux lueurs cuivrées émanent par contraste et se dilatent vers les bords des nappes bleues et vertes suspendues, aux accords hardis d’olive et d’outre-mer, d’émeraude et de cobalt. Le souffle immense brassant et unifiant l’espace en fusion se combine avec l’extrême richesse et variété de la texture moléculaire, traits, points, taches, hachures, frottis, granulations. (…)

Il n’y a pas de conclusion à ce livre car l’œuvre singulière de Zao Wou-Ki reste inépuisablement ouverte dans sa splendeur physique et sa plénitude spirituelle. Elle assume avec un élan de plus en plus libre la symbiose totale entre l’Occident et l’Orient, entre l’énergie et la contemplation."

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

JACOB François, 1986

JACOB François, extrait de la préface du catalogue de l’exposition Zao Wou-Ki – Paintings 1980-1985 à la Pierre Matisse Gallery de New York, Pierre Matisse Gallery Edition, New York, 1986.

"Un regard encore ouvert à tous les possibles. Un état qui précède le monde. Une route qui conduit, non à l’achèvement, mais à l’origine, aux confins de ce qui n’est pas encore. C’est là que nous entraîne la peinture de Zao Wou-Ki, vers un espace qui n’est pas encore déterminé, mais reste en suspens, hésite, plane un dernier instant avant de basculer dans ce qui, plus tard, deviendra un ordre.

(…) Il y a, dans la peinture de Zao Wou-Ki, une perpétuelle mise en question du monde. Un acharnement à le re-créer. Certaines de ses toiles évoquent la fureur des origines, l’enfantement de la matière par l’énergie, les derniers soubresauts des explosions créatrices. D’autres déploient l’indocilité moqueuse des nébuleuses. Ou la naissance de la lumière. Ou l’invention de l’eau. Ou le premier matin, comme ce merveilleux petit triptyque aux blancs rosés. Et en filigrane, par-delà, les convulsions de la matière, comme prête à sourdre, la vie."

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

CHENG François, 1981

CHENG François, extrait de la préface du catalogue de l’exposition Zao Wou-Ki aux Galeries nationales du Grand Palais à Paris, 1981.

Texte repris et complété pour le catalogue de l’exposition Zao Wou-Ki de la Galerie nationale du Jeu de Paume, Éditions du Jeu de Paume, Paris, 2003.

"Le destin artistique de Zao Wou-Ki n’est pas seulement individuel ; il est intimement lié au devenir d’une tradition picturale plusieurs fois millénaire. Ce fait essentiel, loin de diminuer la valeur de l’aventure personnelle du peintre, contribue à la rendre plus émouvante à nos yeux. Grâce à cette œuvre en effet, une longue attente semble s’achever, celle dans laquelle demeurait la peinture chinoise depuis plus d’un siècle ; une vraie symbiose, pour la première fois s’est réalisée, celle qui de tout temps devait avoir lieu entre la Chine et l’Occident.

Sans doute a-t-on eu raison de parler d’une sorte de miracle lorsqu’on évoquait ce moment décisif où, à l’exact milieu de ce siècle, le peintre s’installait à Paris, venant de son pays lointain. Comme par miracle, il s’y est d’emblée trouvé et s’est adonné à une création dont la densité immédiate nous étonne aujourd’hui encore. (Comment ne pas évoquer ici l’exemple parallèle de Victor Ségalen qui, à peine arrivé en Chine, déclara : « J’ai trouvé mon lieu et mon milieu ? ») Suit alors une longue quête passionnée au cours de laquelle, tout en cherchant à assimiler ce qui fait la grandeur de l’art occidental, le peintre redécouvre le génie de sa propre culture. Plus tard, en 1961, il résume ainsi son cheminement : « Si l’influence de Paris est indéniable dans toute ma formation d’artiste, je tiens aussi à dire que j’ai graduellement redécouvert la Chine, à mesure que ma personnalité s’affirmait. Dans mes toiles récentes, elle s’exprime d’une manière innée. Paradoxalement, c’est à Paris que je dois ce retour à mes origines profondes » (…)".

orange dot   Retour sur la liste