Viewing entries in
1990's

DE CORTANZE Gerard 1998

DE CORTANZE Gerard - Extract from ‘ Zao Wou-Ki, le peintre qui regarde autrement’ (Zao Wou-Ki, the painter who looks at things differently) in Zao Wou-Ki, Yves Bonnefoy and Gerard de Cortanze, La Différence Edition – Enrico Navarra, Paris, France, 1998 (pp. 52-53).

"(…) I am thinking of a canvas displaying intensity close to epiphany: 12.10.70. A wide field of vibratory green, a vacant space full of racket, a breach in the forest, a corner of sky taken over by leaves, a cave, the sketch of an ascending movement. And moreover, a great joy, a delight. This is odd. Zao Wou-Ki, despite not being religious, reaches in some of his paintings a joy bordering on religiousness. The universe is there, undoubtedly, vibrant with energy. This painting, like some others, re-creates life, gives life a meaning and allows a piece of holiness to inhabit our human condition. The canvas absorbs the being, swallowing it up and demonstrating the power of the universe. Where does this power come from? How can one put in harmony to such an extent the sky and the earth and give it to man? Paul Klee, in his journal, reminisces the light and shadow as the material of the graphic world, reminds us that the painter, preoccupied with the form, understands that there is a « remnant ». This « remnant » represents awaken consciousness and creation, helps to make one’s way through the formal approach, keeps hope between the visible and the invisible, the perishable and the imperishable. In such desire to paint, the movement may be motionless but in this case, its stillness will be the stillness of a mirror and its answer, the answer of the echo. Zao Wou-Ki sets a mirror and gets in some resonance. In the studio, when I am looking at the painting, I can touch this stillness with my fingers and I am captured by the echo, and when Zao Wou-Ki talks, I am filled with emotion. His painting opens up another world that I already knew without being aware. The painter puts me before the field of Sacred which outlines the distance that keeps me apart from it and offers to shorten it and, thus, making it more human. (…)".       

orange dot   Return to the list

BONNEFOY Yves 1998

BONNEFOY Yves – Extract from « Pour introduire à Zao Wou-Ki » (An introduction to Zao Wou-Ki) in Zao Wou-Ki, Yves Bonnefoy and Gerard de Cortanze, La Différence Editions – Enrico Navarra, Paris, France, 1998 (pp. 27-28).  

"(…) Zao Wou-Ki plans to reunite in color – in the same way color attempts to express the world through oil – a knot of self-perception that would be the most rebellious as possible against words or thought, the most despoiled from what one sees when one stops to feel red or blue as simple blue or red and, also, the most foreign to these harmonies that are formed when one stands back – by doing so, already eluding true experience – in order to appreciate what is called beauty. A «journey to color» as if every time one lays red or blue, one had to become the color oneself, only color, and not through a set of discrepancies in a range, but as the flame is fire, meaning simultaneously the evasive part and the whole, including the iridescence on the crown of the heat and the blow of the latter which breaks it.

And why are there such poetic rules concerning the color itself, the experienced but unseen color? Because when one reaches a red embodied by nothing – not even a fire – a blue that is no longer, although almost violet, the reminder on canvas of an impression of mountain, to a backwash of yellow or green representing more for us than a reminiscence of a river or a stormy sky, then this envelop of things that represents color in the West is now torn apart and deprived from its protective role by which the world used to get access to what one believed was the living being. Fundamental outcomes follow for the beings in the world and also, admittedly, for painting in this debate where Zao Wou-Ki has now committed it.    

(…) I am looking at these paintings and tell myself, yes indeed, I am called here away from myself, forward in this place which is no longer a place. These paintings, without any doubt, cross the line of appearance. Undoubtedly they cover themselves, such as wide sails, with the phosphorescent foam of non-being, non-wanting. I was not wrong to describe Zao Wou-Ki’s work through the absence of reference, the absence of knowledge. This painter is complying with the lesson of the East. However, am I able to exclude – no I am not – that there are in him, in his need for liberation, even, thoughts, feelings, fighting back when the big wave swells? They tell him, even, and loud, that they are entitled to do so. " (…).  

orange dot   Return to the list

DUBY Georges 1996

DUBY Georges – Extract from the foreword of the catalogue of the exhibition A retrospective of Zao Wou-Ki at the Museum of Fine Arts of Kaohsiung, Kaohsiung Fine Arts Museum Edition, Taiwan, 1996 (pp.19-20)

Text retrieved for the catalogue of the exhibition Infinite Image and Space - A retrospective of Zao Wou-Ki at the Hong Kong Museum of Fine Arts, Urban Council of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, 1996.

"(…) Zao Wou-Ki acknowledged that “a part of myself was forgotten, buried under things … I feel I am quite disengaged from Chinese painting. Now it seems to me that it is part of my universe”. Indeed, he needed to disengage himself and break free from every ritualized process among which the act of painting in ancient China was trapped. It was essential, in order to recognize himself finally and freely as a Chinese painter. The imprints left by his early childhood, for a while faded, became more prevalent with age. The earliest memories, all the legacy of hereditary culture, imperceptibly returned from his innermost being. But what in this painting looks Chinese, seen with the eyes of a Westerner? And, first of all, what is not ?   The rejection of figuration, obviously, the preferences of canvas and oil to paper and to wash tint, finally, and foremost, the absolute rule of color, all betray Chinese tradition. However, in my opinion, three characteristics of the said tradition demonstrate its resurgence.

First of all, the function of the stroke. At first sight, its presence is imperceptible. However, a careful examination reveals its essential influence. Forming the fundamental texture of the painted work, a multitude of blurred strokes cover each other, interfere, combine with each other, disappear, spurt back here and there, pour out and blend in the shimmering limpidity, conferring upon the colored matter its smooth thickness and its succulent, endless richness, with the constant desire to continue painting marks, subtly, willfully, from the tip of the paintbrush, in order to spin at last the web-like mounting on which, the composition lays, unsubstantial.

Precisely, in the composition, it seems I can also see China reappearing in the arrangement of the aesthetic components and in the portion allocated to empty space set in a central position within and uncircumscribed area. All the while, the whole painting is built on a clash, a conflict which is also a harmony, on the hesitant balance between fullness and emptiness, between what is coarse, oppressive, dark, harsh and solid – represented by the mountain, the rocks, the earth in classical Chinese painting – and the effusions, fumes, breezes – depicted in the Chinese tradition by the wandering waters, the sky, the clouds and the haze.

However, I feel the most Chinese peculiarity lays in the relationship between the painter, his work and the one who looks at it. In China, painting has never been a pure object of sensual enjoyment. It always had a purpose. Such purpose was not sacrificial, like in medieval European Christian art, and the painting was not considered as an offering to supernatural powers. It was not used for telling of events, maintaining a historical memory, passing on instructions or prompting people to act one way or another. As a mediator, painting only claimed to promote a passage. It was an open door into enchantment. (…)."

orange dot   Return to the list

PEI Ieoh Ming 1996

PEI Ieoh Ming – Extract from the foreword of the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki. Encres de Chine (India inks), 1982-1996. A tribute to Pierre Matisse at the Jan Krugier Gallery in New York, Jan Krugier and Maria Gaetana Matisse Edition, New York, United States, 1996.

Text translated into French for the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki, Encres (inks), 1953 – 1999, at the Salle des Ecritures in Figeac, Maison des Arts Georges Pompidou Editions, Cajac, France, 1999

"In the spring of 1971, my wife Eileen and I paid a visit to our old Zao friends (…). However, he showed me a portfolio of ink paintings he had painted to pass the time. These paintings represented his first attempts of traditional China ink painting on paper since he had left China and come to France in 1948. He maintained that he had not been influenced by traditional Chinese painting.

I was enthralled … The lines were ethereal all the while infinitely detailed. However, the most significant, in my opinion, was that these ink paintings spoke the same language as his oil paintings, despite the great differences that exist between both techniques. I still remember how impressed I was to discover that he was a painter in the Western tradition, inspired by a Chinese aesthetic sensibility. Such sensibility forms the keystone of his evolution as an artist. (…)."

orange dot   Return to the list

DAIX Pierre 1994

DAIX Pierre – Extract from Zao Wou-Ki – L’œuvre (Zao Wou-Ki – Artwork) 1935-1993, Ides et Calendes Editions, Neuchâtel, Switzerland, 1994 (pp. 7-12).

"Although very diverse, Zao Wou-Ki’s paintings bear, since he created his personal language at the beginning of the second half of the 20th century, his signature at every point of their composition, like the seal of an art in a strange country where spaces coming from the field of cosmology and the signs of ancient China merge with spaces created from the modern riddance, in the West, from perspective, from Cezanne to this lyrical abstraction which rapidly expanded after the Second World War. Thus there is a strange stretch of time, since the latter seems never to cease in his paintings, between the first displays of this Chinese characteristic to convey in art the breath of the universe and the end of our century. There is no such thing as progress in art and Zao Wou-Ki knows it better than anyone else. One only needs to hear him enthuse when looking at the most ancient three-base wine containers discovered from the Bronze Age in China among Neolithic objects, as well as the Tang painters or primitive calligraphy (the most spontaneous calligraphy). However, if it is true that there is no progress, then the artist who does not bear in him the vision of his time can only remain an epigone. Wou-Ki’s painting is in line with the immemorial tradition of Chinese art, because, rather than following it, it brings forth questions about the meaning of art, and more precisely, the meaning of painting. Such questions arose from our Western modernism and the revolutions occurred in painting when it broke free, in France, from the masterpieces of the Renaissance considered as unsurpassable. (…)".

orange dot   Return to the list

CHESSEX Jacques 1990

CHESSEX Jacques – Extract from the foreword of the catalogue of the exhibition Zao Wou-Ki at the Galerie Jan Krugier in Geneva, Galerie Jan Krugier Edition, Geneva, Switzerland, 1990.

(…) "Thus, all the recent paintings by Zao Wou-Ki appear to be impervious to any anguish, any obsession about time. Shrugging off the wearing effect of time, aging, and destruction. Showing an ethereal and immediate trust in the powers of pure painting. The youth of these paintings simultaneously reaches what is essential as a result of abstraction and attention to this fresh and first quintessence that is the product of many years of patient summarization, of skilful plastic and philosophical evolution. A metamorphosis to freshness. A transparent idealization of life circumstances and reassessments, of intermissions, of a tense calling maintaining this spring-like spurt in transfigured matter. "

" There is this effect of exaltation towards what is essential and cosmic, similar to meditation that goes through the sublimation of the matter, remaining here miraculously present and compact. There is the sensual and luscious wonder of these painted spaces. In addition, this painting, from which the human figure is absent, condenses to a very high extent the power of inspiring the mark of man, his own memory and the memory of all his passages in what is mundane and what is sublime (…)."

orange dot   Return to the list

Viewing entries in
1990's

de CORTANZE Gérard, 1998

de CORTANZE Gérard, extrait de « Zao Wou-Ki, le peintre qui regarde autrement » in Zao Wou-Ki, Yves Bonnefoy et Gérard de Cortanze, Éditions La Différence – Enrico Navarra, Paris, 1998 (pp. 52-53).

"(…) Je pense à une toile d’une intensité qui confère à l’épiphanie : 12.10.70. Un grand champ de vert vibratoire, une étendue vacante pleine de vacarme, une trouée dans la forêt, un coin de ciel mangé par des feuilles, une grotte, l’esquisse d’un mouvement ascendant. Mais surtout une immense joie, un plaisir. C’est étrange. Zao Wou-Ki qui n’est pas religieux atteint dans certaines toiles une joie qui confine à la religiosité. L’univers, dans son énergie, est là, incontestablement. Cette toile, comme quelques autres, réinvente la vie, lui donne un sens, fait habiter notre condition humaine par un morceau de divin. La toile absorbe l’être, le happe, manifeste la puissance de l’univers. D’où vient cette force ? Comment peut-on à ce point mettre en harmonie le ciel et la terre et l’offrir aux hommes ? Paul Klee, dans son journal, évoque la lumière et l’ombre qui sont la matière du monde graphique, rappelle que le peintre préoccupé par la forme, comprend qu’il existe le « reste ». C’est ce « reste » que fait venir Zao Wou-Ki dans ses tableaux. Ce « reste » qui est conscience éveillée et création, qui aide à frayer un chemin dans la voie formelle, qui fait demeurer l’espoir entre le visible et l’invisible, le périssable et l’impérissable. Dans le plaisir de peindre, le mouvement peut être immobile, alors son immobilité sera celle du miroir, et sa réponse, celle de l’écho. Zao Wou-Ki dresse un miroir et y fait venir de l’écho. Dans l’atelier, quand je regarde la toile, je peux toucher du doigt cette immobilité, je suis pris dans l’écho, et lorsque Zao Wou-Ki parle l’émotion me gagne. Sa peinture s’ouvre sur un autre monde, que je connaissais déjà, mais sans le savoir. Lui, le peintre, me met face au domaine du sacré, il souligne la distance qui m’en sépare, et me propose de l’amoindrir, de la rendre plus humaine. (…)".

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

BONNEFOY Yves, 1998

BONNEFOY Yves, extrait de « Pour introduire à Zao Wou-Ki » in Zao Wou-Ki, Yves Bonnefoy et Gérard de Cortanze, Éditions La Différence – Enrico Navarra, Paris, 1998 (pp. 27-28).  

"(…) Ce projet de Zao Wou-Ki, ce sera de rejoindre dans la couleur - et là même où par l’huile elle cherche à parler du monde – un nœud de la perception à soi-même qui soit le plus rebelle possible à la prise des mots ou de la pensée, le plus dépouillé possible de ce qu’on voit dès qu’on cesse de ressentir le rouge ou le bleu comme simplement du bleu ou du rouge, et le plus étranger aussi à ces harmonies qui se forment lorsque l’on prend recul pour - en cela déjà au dehors de la véritable expérience - apprécier ce qu’on nomme de la beauté. Un « aller à la couleur » comme si, à chaque fois qu’on posait du rouge, du bleu, on avait à être couleur soi-même, rien que couleur : et non par un jeu de différences dans une gamme mais comme la flamme est le feu, c’est-à-dire à la fois la partie insaisissable et le tout, à la fois l’irisation qui court à la crête de la chaleur et le souffle de celle-ci, qui la brise.

Et pourquoi cette poétique de la couleur en soi, de la couleur vécue et non vue ? Parce que si on accède ainsi à un rouge que ne signifie plus rien – même l’incendie -, à un bleu qui ne soit plus, presque mauve pourtant, le rappel sur la toile d’une impression de montagne, à des remous de jaune ou de vert qui aillent plus loin pour nous que tout souvenir d’un torrent ou du ciel d’orage, voici donc déchirée cette enveloppe des choses qu’est en Occident la couleur, la voici dessaisie de sa fonction protectrice, par laquelle le monde accédait à ce qu’alors on croyait de l’être, et des conséquences s’ensuivent, fondamentales, pour l’être-au-monde, et aussi bien, certes, pour la peinture, dans le débat où Zao Wou-Ki l’a maintenant engagée. (…)

(…) Je regarde ces tableaux, et je me dis, oui, c’est vrai, on m’appelle ici loin de moi, loin en avant dans ce lieu qui n’est plus un lieu, ces toiles franchissent bien la barre de l’apparence, elles se couvrent assurément, grandes voiles, de l’écume phosphorescente du non-être, du non-vouloir, je n’ai pas eu tort de caractériser le travail de Zao Wou-Ki par le non-réferentiel, le non-savoir, c’est la leçon de l’Orient que ce peintre écoute. Mais puis-je exclure – non, je ne puis - qu’il y ait chez lui, en son besoin même de délivrance, des pensées, des sentiments, qui résistent, quand se gonfle la grande vague ? Et qui lui disent même, et bien fort, qu’ils ont le droit de le faire ?" (…).

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

DUBY Georges, 1996

DUBY Georges, extrait de la préface du catalogue de l’exposition A retrospective of Zao Wou-Ki au Museum of Fine Arts de Kaohsiung, Edition Kaohsiung Fine Arts Museum, 1996.

Texte repris pour le catalogue de l’exposition Infinite Image and Space - A retrospective of Zao Wou-Ki au Hong Kong Museum of Fine Arts, Urban Council of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, 1996.

"(…) Zao Wou-Ki l’avoue, «qu’un certain moi-même était oublié, enfoui sous des choses… Je me sens assez dégagé de la peinture chinoise. Il me semble qu’elle fait maintenant partie de mon univers». Il fallait en effet qu’il se dégage, qu’il se délivre de tous les procédés ritualisés au sein desquels dans l’ancienne Chine l’acte de peindre se trouvait engoncé, il le fallait pour qu’il puisse se reconnaître enfin librement peintre chinois. Les empreintes laissées par la première enfance, un moment estompées, reprennent avec l’âge de leur vigueur, les plus anciens souvenirs, tout le legs de la culture héréditaire, remontent insensiblement du tréfonds de l’être. Mais qu’est-ce donc qui dans cette œuvre paraît chinois aux yeux d’un occidental? Et d’abord qu’est- ce qui ne l’est pas? Le refus de la figuration bien sûr, la toile préférée au papier, l’huile au lavis, enfin et surtout la primauté absolue de la couleur, tout cela renie la tradition chinoise. De celle-ci cependant trois caractères manifestent clairement selon moi la résurgence.

C’est d’abord la fonction que remplit le trait. A première vue, sa présence est indiscernable, mais un examen attentif en révèle l’emprise essentielle. Formant la texture primordiale de l’œuvre peinte, une multitude de traits noyés se recouvrent, interfèrent, se combinent, se perdent, rejaillissent ici et là, s’épanchent, se fondent dans le miroitement des transparences, conférant à la substance colorée sa densité onctueuse, sa succulente, son inépuisable richesse dans un soucis constant de poursuivre à la pointe du pinceau, délicatement, obstinément, des traces, et ceci pour tisser enfin le support arachnéen sur quoi, légère, la composition repose.

Dans la composition, justement, il me semble voir reparaître aussi la Chine, dans la disposition des composantes plastiques, dans la part faite au vide venu s’installer en position centrale au sein d’une étendue qu’aucune lisière ne circonscrit, l’ensemble de l’ouvrage se construisant sur une opposition, sur un affrontement qui est aussi accord, sur l’équilibre incertain entre plénitude et vacuité, entre le rugueux, le pesant, le sombre, l’âpre, le massif - ce que la montagne, les roches, la terre représentaient dans la peinture classique chinoise - et les effusions, les vapeurs, les souffles - figurés dans la tradition chinoise par les eaux vagabondes, le ciel, les nuages, les brumes.

Toutefois, le plus chinois me paraît résider dans le rapport qu’entretiennent le peintre, son œuvre et celui qui la contemple. En Chine, la peinture n’a jamais été pur objet de délectation sensuelle. Elle a toujours rempli une fonction. Cette fonction n’était pas, comme dans l’art chrétien de l’Europe médiévale, sacrificielle, la peinture ne se présentait pas comme une offrande à des puissances surnaturelles. Elle n’avait pas non plus fonction de narrer, d’entretenir une mémoire historique, de transmettre des consignes, d’inciter les hommes à agir de telle ou telle façon. Médiatrice, elle prétendait seulement favoriser un passage. C’était une porte ouverte sur l’enchantement. (…)."

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

PEI Ieoh Ming, 1996

PEI Ieoh Ming, extrait de la préface du catalogue de l’exposition Zao Wou-Ki. Encres de Chine 1982-1996. A tribute to Pierre Matisse à la Jan Krugier Gallery de New York, Edition Jan Krugier et Maria Gaetana Matisse, New York, 1996.

"Au printemps 1971, Eileen mon épouse et moi avons rendu visite à nos vieux amis les Zao (…). Il me montra cependant un portfolio de peintures à l’encre qu’il avait faites pour se distraire. Ces tableaux étaient les premiers essais de peinture à l’encre de Chine traditionnelle sur papier depuis qu’il avait quitté la Chine pour la France en 1948. Il m’affirma ne pas avoir été influencé par la peinture traditionnelle chinoise.

J’étais subjugué… Le tracé était aérien, tout en étant infiniment nuancé. Mais le plus important, à mon avis, était que ces peintures à l’encre parlaient le même langage que ses huiles, malgré les grandes différences qui existent entre ces deux techniques. Je me souviens combien j’avais été impressionné en découvrant qu’il était un peintre de tradition occidentale, inspiré par une sensibilité esthétique chinoise. Cette sensibilité est la clef de voûte de son évolution en tant qu’artiste. (…)."

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

DAIX Pierre, 1994

DAIX Pierre, extrait de Zao Wou-Ki – L’œuvre 1935-1993, Éditions Ides et Calendes, Neuchâtel, 1994 (pp. 7-12).

"Si différentes soient-elles, les toiles de Zao Wou-Ki depuis qu’il s’est créé son langage personnel au début de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle portent sa signature à chaque point de leur composition, la signature d’un art en étrange pays où se fondent des espaces venus du champ de la cosmologie et des signes de la Chine ancestrale avec les espaces nés de l’affranchissement moderne chez nous de la perspective, de Cézanne à cette abstraction lyrique qui prit son essor après la seconde guerre mondiale ; en étrange durée donc puisque celle-ci semble ne jamais s’interrompre chez lui entre les premières manifestations de cette spécificité chinoise de faire passer dans l’art le souffle de l’univers et notre fin du XXe siècle. Il n’y a pas de progrès en art et Zao Wou-Ki le sait mieux que personne. Il faut l’entendre s’enthousiasmer devant des pots à vin tripodes les plus anciens qui nous soient venus de l’âge du bronze en Chine, sortis des objets du néolithique, comme devant les peintres T’ang ou la calligraphie primitive, la plus spontanée. Mais s’il n’y a pas de progrès, l’artiste qui ne porte pas en lui la vision de son temps ne peut être qu’un épigone. La peinture de Wou-Ki s’inscrit dans la lignée immémoriale de l’art chinois, parce qu’au lieu de la suivre elle y apporte les interrogations sur le sens de l’art, plus exactement sur le sens de la peinture, nées de notre modernité occidentale, nées des révolutions opérées dans la peinture quand celle-ci s’est émancipée en France des chefs-d’œuvre qu’on jugeait insurpassables de la Renaissance. (…)".

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

CHESSEX Jacques, 1990

CHESSEX Jacques, extrait de la préface du catalogue de l’exposition Zao Wou-Ki à la Galerie Jan Krugier de Genève, Edition Galerie Jan Krugier, Genève, 1990.

(…) "Ainsi les récentes peintures de Zao Wou-Ki se montrent-elles infiniment réfractaires à toute angoisse, à toute obsession du temps. Ignorant l’usure, le vieillissement, la destruction. Témoignant d’une confiance aérienne et immédiate dans les pouvoirs de la peinture pure, et leur jeunesse atteint simultanément l’élémentaire à force d’abstraction, - d’attention à cette quintessence fraîche et première qui est le produit d’années de patiente synthèse, de savante évolution plastique et philosophique. Une métamorphose vers la fraîcheur. Une idéalisation transparente des circonstances de la vie et des remises en question, des haltes, de tout un métier tendu – maintenant ce jaillissement printanier dans la matière transfigurée."

" Il y a cet effet d’élévation, pareil à la méditation qui passe par la sublimation de la matière, demeurée là pourtant miraculeusement présente et compacte, vers l’essentiel et le cosmique. Il y a la merveille sensuelle, pulpeuse, de ces espaces peints. Et il y a que cette œuvre, dont la figure humaine est absente, concentre à un degré très fort le pouvoir d’inspirer la trace de l’homme, sa mémoire, et la mémoire de tous ses passages dans le terrestre et dans le sublime. (…)."

orange dot   Retour sur la liste