Viewing entries in
2010's

DE VILLEPIN Dominique 2015

DE VILLEPIN Dominique, from « La lumière et le souffle » (The light and the breath), in Zao Wou-Ki et les poètes (Zao Wou-Ki and the poets),  Albin Michel Editions, Paris, 2015 (p. 14).

(…) Zao Wou-Ki had a talent for friendship, the skill to refuse clans and cliques, to place himself from the start out of any power relationship in the truth of the human, as expressed by the mighty embrace of his laughter. Three rare talents were combined in a single person, being able to admire, able to be selective and to enjoy sharing, that opened for him the path of his life as a man, enabled him to live in a city he only dreamed from afar where people spoke an unknown language. How has he ever been able to always establish strong links with the best, right upon his arrival in Paris. When Françoise amazed asks him this question, he answers by a merry mystery. But what a confidence he needed to be able to become the friend of the most brilliant artists, even when no one knew them yet! Painters like Sam Francis, Jean-Paul Riopelle or Norman Blum but also musicians like Edgar Varese, poets or doctors. No, no one has ever been to admire better than he did. He was gifted with such a quiet confidence to be able not to sink into the comparison!  It needed the free rooting of an uprooted man, of someone who knows where he comes from, but who, far from his origins has to metamorphoses, reinvent himself, find his innermost self. To admire is to find in the other what can nourish one’s own conception of humanity. To accept to metamorphose oneself in contact with the other to enrich from this contact. The strength of admiration widens the span of the exchange. How many poets, illustrated by Zao Wou-Ki, would have at once recognized in this word their feeling towards the painter, as Char did, talking about his ‘admiring friendship’.” (…)

orange dot   Return to the list

HENDGEN Yann 2013

HENDGEN Yann, from « L’infinie complexité d’un bleu dans le minuscule reflet d’une feuille sur l’eau » (The infinite complexity of a blue in the tiny reflection of a leaf on the water), in Zao Wou-Ki. Couleurs et mots (Words and colors), Le Cherche Midi Edition, Paris, 2013 (pp. 95-99).

 (…) “Texts about the painting of Zao Wou-Ki dating back to the 2000s are relatively rare. Most of the critics have often confined Zao Wou-Ki in what has been called in a rather artificial way the ‘second Ecole de Paris’. That is how the perception of his work has, for quite some time, only existed through references to the key period of the 1950s to the 1970s. His paintings from the 1980s have often been considered as a continuation of this period, nearly as a conclusion. Then it is a whole generation of artists, and with them their creations, that have been put aside, as if their painting was already accomplished and their contribution to the history of art had come to an end (…).

And when, in 2008, he decides that he will no longer paint in oil, it is a final decision. From then on he refuses to go to his studio. This space, he had especially created at the beginning of the 1960s then modernized and upgraded in the 1990s suddenly loses its raison d’être. For him, it disappears. It is also because he gave painting a new dimension. Similar to the impressionists, he decided to ‘set up his easel’ in the wild. And this reversal has emerged in the mid-2000. (…).

From then on, nature makes a big comeback in his work. One might very well imagine his Le Soir à l’Hôtel du Palais (An evening at the Hôtel du Palais), painted in 2004, as a gorgeous seascape. However, after taking a closer look, it is not a view of a beach he proposes but a total immersion in the elements, abolishing the border between the air and the water. One must not take into account the things providing him with a pretext – bonsai, fishes, orchids – but what both his artist’s eye and hand make of them, the transformation process he puts them through to reach a refined rebirth.” (…)

orange dot   Return to the list

DE VILLEPIN Dominique 2012

DE VILLEPIN Dominique, from « Dans le labyrinthe des lumières » (In the maze of lights), in Zao Wou-Ki. Works 1935-2010, Flammarion, Paris, 2012 (pp. 20-21).

(…)"Where is Zao Wou-Ki then? The traveler from Orient remains unfound. Halfway there? No, he walks on between the rifts, the chinks, within the unthought-of side of the world, in the bare world of before the traditions but with their weapons, with their eyes. A rupestrian world where he summons the world from above and where he creates a new light.

Zao Wou-Ki is not a time interval. Nor a milestone in a history of painting. He does not conform to schools, to fancies, always opening up his own furrow. He does not have the makings of time, he is made of matter into space. That is why it is illusory to try and approach him through the unfolding of the dates of a biography. He must be chased out in those infinite spaces, sometimes serene, sometimes frightening, where he takes refuge. On this shapeless scene of the Creation of the world. "  (…)

orange dot   Return to the list

Viewing entries in
2010's

de VILLEPIN Dominique, 2015

de VILLEPIN Dominique, extrait de « La lumière et le souffle », in Zao Wou-Ki et les poètes, Éditions Albin Michel, Paris, 2015 (p. 14).

(…) "Zao Wou-Ki avait le don de l’amitié, l’art de refuser les clans et les coteries, de se placer d’emblée hors de tout rapport de force dans la vérité de l’humain, dont témoignait l’étreinte vigoureuse de son rire. Trois talents rares étaient réunis en une personne, pouvoir admirer, savoir choisir et aimer partager, qui lui ont ouvert la voie de sa vie d’homme, lui arrivé dans une ville rêvée de loin où se parlait une langue inconnue. Comment a-t-il fait pour toujours se lier avec les meilleurs, dès son arrivée à Paris ? À cette question émerveillée de Françoise il répond par un mystère joyeux. Mais quelle assurance pour nouer des amitiés avec les plus brillants, à l’heure où personne encore ne les connaît ! Peintres comme Sam Francis, Jean-Paul Riopelle, ou Norman Bluhm mais aussi musiciens comme Edgar Varèse, poètes ou médecins. Non, personne mieux que lui n’a su admirer. Qu’il faut de tranquille assurance pour ne pas sombrer dans la comparaison ! Il fallait le libre enracinement d’un déraciné, quelqu’un qui sait d’où il vient, mais qui, au loin, doit se métamorphoser, se réinventer, se trouver. Admirer c’est trouver en l’autre ce qui peut nourrir sa conception de l’humanité. C’est accepter de se métamorphoser au contact de l’autre pour s’en enrichir. La force de l’admiration ouvre l’éventail de l’échange. Combien des poètes illustrés par Zao Wou-Ki auraient reconnu immédiatement dans ce mot leur sentiment à l’égard du peintre, à l’instar de Char, soulignant son « amitié admirative »." (…).

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

HENDGEN Yann, 2013

HENDGEN Yann, extrait de « L’infinie complexité d’un bleu dans le minuscule reflet d’une feuille sur l’eau », in Zao Wou-Ki. Couleurs et mots, Éditions Le Cherche midi, Paris, 2013 (pp. 95-99).

(…) "Les textes sur la peinture de Zao Wou-Ki des années 2000 sont peu fréquents. La critique dans son ensemble a souvent cantonné Zao Wou-Ki dans ce qui a été appelé de manière assez artificielle la « seconde École de Paris ». La compréhension de son œuvre s’est ainsi longtemps fondée uniquement en référence à la période phare des années 1950 à 1970. Les peintures des années 1980 ont été largement pensées comme un prolongement de cette période, presque une conclusion. Puis c’est toute une génération d’artistes, et donc leurs créations, qui a été mise de côté, comme si leur peinture était déjà accomplie et leur apport à l’histoire de l’art terminé. (…).

Et quand, en 2008, il décide de ne plus peindre à l’huile, c’est une décision sans retour. Il refuse dès lors de monter dans son atelier. Cet espace, qu’il a fait créer de toutes pièces au début des années 1960 puis moderniser dans les années 1990, perd sa raison d’être. Il disparaît pour lui. C’est aussi parce qu’il a donné à la peinture une dimension nouvelle. À l’instar des impressionnistes, il a choisi de "planter son chevalet" dans la nature. Et ce renversement s’est fait jour dès le milieu des années 2000. (…).

Désormais, la nature fait un grand retour dans son œuvre. On s’amuserait presque à voir dans Le Soir à l’Hôtel du Palais, peint en 2004, une grandiose marine. Cependant, à y mieux regarder, ce n’est pas la vue d’une plage qu’il propose mais bien une immersion totale dans les éléments, abolissant la frontière entre air et eau. Il ne faut pas retenir les choses qui lui servent de prétextes – bonsaïs, poissons, orchidées – mais ce que son œil et sa main d’artiste en font, la transformation qu’il leur fait subir pour une renaissance épurée. " (…).

orange dot   Retour sur la liste

de VILLEPIN Dominique, 2012

de VILLEPIN Dominique, extrait de « Dans le labyrinthe des lumières », in Zao Wou-Ki. Œuvres 1935-2010, Éditions Flammarion, Paris, 2012 (pp. 20-21).

(…) "Où donc est Zao Wou-Ki ? Le voyageur d’Orient est introuvable. À mi-chemin ? Non, il avance dans les failles, les interstices, dans l’impensé du monde, dans le monde dépouillé d’avant les traditions mais avec leurs armes, avec leurs yeux. Un monde rupestre où il convoque le monde d’en-haut et où il fait surgir une nouvelle lumière.

Zao Wou-Ki n’est pas un intervalle de temps. Ni un jalon d’une histoire de la peinture. Il se coule mal dans les écoles et dans les engouements, traçant sans cesse son propre sillon. Il n’est pas de l’étoffe du temps, il est de la matière de l’espace. C’est pourquoi il est illusoire de vouloir l’aborder dans le déroulement de dates d’une biographie. Il faut plutôt le débusquer dans ces espaces infinis, tantôt sereins, tantôt effrayants où il se réfugie. Dans ce lieu informe de la Création du monde." (…).

orange dot   Retour sur la liste